Return to 2013

Meet the Candidates 2013

The Wellfleet Community Forum hostedt a ”Meet the Candidates” Night on Thursday, April 11, 2013 at 7:30 PM, at the Wellfleet Public Library at 55 West Main Street.

2013 04 11 Candidates Night AA 2013 04 11 Candidates Night BBThere were three candidates for two positions on the Board of Selectmen.  Each is a three year position.  The candidates were Berta Bruinooge, current Chair of the Board, Jerry Houk, a current member and Mary Ellen Manning.  The two incumbents were subsequently elected.

The position of Town Moderator had two candidates.  Bruce Bierhans, the current town moderator who faced a challenge from Dan Silverman, the retiring fire chief.  Dan Silverman was subsequently elected.

The event was moderated by Ira Wood. The candidates had the opportunity to share their positions on important issues facing the town, and state their case for election. 

In uncontested elections, Gary Sorkin is running for a two-year position on the Wellfleet Housing Authority, Elaine McIlroy running for a four-year position and Mary Fontanarosa is running for a five year term.

Town Clerk-Treasurer Dawn Rickman and Town Collector Marianne Nickerson are running again for three-year terms. Wellfleet School Committee member Elizabeth Pontius and Nauset Regional School Committee member Jonathan Porteus are also running for reelection.

 Library trustees Dian Reynolds and Margaret Stolnacke are running for two three-year seats.

Bonnie Robicheau is running for a three-year seat, and Nancy Vail is running for a one-year position on the Cemetery commission.

Two three year positions as Constable are also on the ballot.  Only Richard Robicheau is on the ballot.  Michael Parlente has indicated that he will be a write-in candidate for the second position.

A moderated question and answer session followed the candidate presentations.

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply